Foodgasm episode 3 1/2: Recipes by Cafe Metro

So, it was my cousin’s birthday yesterday. We headed first to Maxim’s since she booked a room there. Dumped my stuff there except for my camera. Then, off to Newport Mall to have our (late) lunch atΒ Recipes by Cafe Metro. That was my first time to eat in this resto so I was really looking forward to their dishes. My cousin and her dad agreed to place two orders for each of their bestseller, except for Kare-kare since we eat it at home anyway.

Chicken Sotanghon
Chicken Sotanghon (chicken, mushrooms, sotanghon, baby corn, cabbage)
My Lemonade shake πŸ™‚
Crispy Tilapia (PhP215)
Crispy Tilapia (PhP215)

I did not eat much of the tilapia since I always get to eat it at home. General’s Chicken was so good, though! It’s sweet and salty at the same time. I’m not a fan of eggplant so I did not bother eating one.

General’s Chicken (PhP215)
General’s Chicken (PhP215)
Gising Gising (PhP170)

Gising Gising (translation:Β gisingΒ is “to wake up”) is made up of baguio beans, ground meat, and coconut milk. The taste is actually quite similar to Bicol Express. It was a good thing that it was not very spicy.

Lechon Kawali with Kangkong (PhP215)

I noticed a brochure on our table and I really found the dish endorsed in it very tempting. The dish is actually recommended by the Asian Food Channel (AFC), which makes it all the more tempting to order. Good thing that my uncle noticed the brochure as well so he placed two orders ofΒ BangusΒ Teriyaki (translation: Milkfish Teriyaki). Hooray!

The brochure!
Bangus Teriyaki

What I loved with all of their dishes was the fact that they taste likeΒ lutong bahay (translation: food cooked at home). I think that was the main reason why we were able to eat everything, leaving no trace of meat or vegetable on the plates. It gives you the feeling that you are just having family lunch at home so you just feel comfortable while eating. With that said, I highly recommend this place especially if you’re having lunch/dinner with a group. I noticed that most of their dishes are good for 3-4 people. πŸ™‚

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

Recipes by Cafe Metro: Newport Mall, Resorts World Manila, Pasay City

About the post

Food, Photography

Leave a Reply

