A week with nature and churches

This year’s holy week has been the busiest so far.

Maundy Thursday

As usual, my family didΒ Visita Iglesia which is a tradition done either on this day or Good Friday. We visited seven churches so that we can distribute the fourteen stations of the cross equally. Here is a rundown of the churches we visited that day:

Archdiocesan Shrine of Divine Mercy (Mandaluyong)*


San Roque Parish Church (Mandaluyong)


St. Francis of Assisi Church (Mandaluyong)**


Christ the King Parish Church (Quezon City)


Sta. Maria della Strada Parish (Quezon City)


Monasterio de Sta. Clara (Quezon City)


Dambana ng Ina ng mga Walang Mag-ampon (Marikina)


Good Friday

We went to Batangas since my cousin and her friends were there as well. Some of my relatives came with us. I was ready to hit the beach but I found out that a swimming pool was what the place has to offer. Since I did not have any decent sleep the night before, I decided to sleep the whole afternoon. But, before sleeping, I decided to take some pictures.

Sunrise (post-processed, obviously)
Yummy pork adobo
Snapshot of Taal Lake

When we were about to leave, my mom told me that we would go to Laguna the next day.

Black Saturday

Majayjay Falls / Taytay Falls / Imelda Falls

My camera and I were excited since the town we were visiting in Laguna was rural so there would be a lot of nature stuff to photograph. With some of my cousins, aunts, and uncles, we went to Imelda Falls since it was scorchingly hot. When we got there, I was shocked to see lots of people who camped out there. I was very disappointed to see trash everywhere, even under the water. I got out of the water after I saw a woman near me brushing her teeth, gargling water then spewing it right back to the falls. Just gave me a reason to stop wading in the water and start grabbing my camera to take some pictures.

This photo would’ve looked better if it was sharper. >.<
Asked my uncle to catch a dragonfly… and he did!

Before going home, we went to Liliw, Laguna to buy some souvenirs. My tatay parked near a church which was called St. John the Baptist Church. There is a belief where you must make a wish if it is your first time to visit a certain church. I’m not sure, though, if this one is just a belief in the Philippines or it exists in other countries.

St. John the Baptist Church

Finally, a picture with me in it!

A tiring week indeed. But, a very spiritual one as well. πŸ™‚

* – picture by MMCCV

** – picture by Loewe Lagdan

About the post

Photography, Travel

Leave a Reply

